My travels around North America

Murray Creek Waterfall – Carmacks, Yukon

So my  friend Pierre brought me out into the bush  today. We went for a hike to Murray Creek Waterfalls just outside of Carmacks. Its spring in the Yukon so it’s very muddy and as I like to call it… mushy. There is still snow on the ground. In fact it was hailing when we started out on the path.

It’s a 45 minute hike up a slight incline to get to the falls.  If you have an ATV you could drive up the road.   We walked it and I was fairly out of breath. I think I need to start going for runs more than once a week. I’m glad I quit smoking four days earlier though.

Spring

Unfortunately we didn’t see much wildlife; just a couple of birds. We saw some bear tracks though.  *Sigh* I think its my summer  goal is to see a wild bear. Everyone else has seen one! I’ve lived in BC my entire life and been camping since I was 6 months old  and I have never seen a bear. (Mom or Dad correct me if I’m wrong and saw one when I was young and don’t remember)

Bear Tracks

      We saw some crocuses near the bear tracks. Apparently,  bears eat them in spring. I wonder if they dig out the bulbs. I would imagine there is more nutritional value in those. Anyone?

Crocus

4 responses

  1. anonymous

    this is such a great idea, you should of started a blog back when you lived in banff!

    May 5, 2011 at 1:00 am

    • I know eh! I had no time in Banff though. My manager had me working all that overtime and I was exhausted.

      May 5, 2011 at 1:09 am

  2. Krista

    hey christine,

    i like the background picture, did you take it in carmacks? the trees look like northern trees to me. is this blog easy to set up? (like the wallpaper and stuff?).

    May 6, 2011 at 10:57 am

    • The Background is from Glacier National Park in BC. Its a Picture of the Rocky Mountains view from atop the Marion Lake Hike. Its pretty easy but I had some formatting issues that were a bit frustrating.

      May 6, 2011 at 11:12 am

Leave a comment